Work in Progress


Evicting the snails from my extension roof has meant many weeks of climbing out of the bedroom window to collect the little critters. Every time I ventured outside I cast my eyes over the dilapidated back wall of the main building and wondered what I should do with it. Ideally remove all the rendering, but over the 200+ years the building has been changed considerably; windows added and the original window bricked up, so to reveal it would be problematic when the rest of the building is stone. The obvious answer would be to get the wall re-rendered, but I can’t afford to do that, so I started patching up the rendering, but of course it still looked a mess even when repainted as I couldn’t match up the pebble-dash finish. Also some of the earlier layers of paint had fallen off and try as I might I couldn’t remove them all to make a fresh start.

Throwing out some of my superfluous casts gave me an idea – why not stick them on the wall, make a feature of them, together with a bit of mosaic. And the louvre doors in the loft (that were on built-in wardrobes when we moved into the house) – perhaps I could cut them in half and make mock shutters? Mmmm…

So began the work in progress…

DSC07643

I hadn't realised the doors weren't identical (they were on separate cupboards originally), but that didn't deter me!
I hadn’t realised the doors weren’t identical (they were on separate cupboards originally), but that didn’t deter me!
My favourite bit of the gecko is the end of his tail - a mug handle!
My favourite bit of the gecko is the end of his tail – a mug handle!

IMG_4977

this looks weird from this angle as the perspective is meant to be viewed from below
this looks weird from this angle as the perspective is meant to be viewed from below
This was the most difficult piece as I had to work from a ladder and therefore couldn't stand back to view.
This was the most difficult piece as I had to work from a ladder and therefore couldn’t stand back to view.
All a bit of a pointless exercise as my courtyard is so small that I had to stand on a ladder to take this photo. Still, it keeps my neighbours amused!
All a bit of a pointless exercise as my courtyard is so small that I had to stand on a ladder to take this photo. Still, it keeps my neighbours amused!

Watch this space… !

Published by

willosworld

Born in Liverpool at the end of WW2, but raised in Skelmersdale. I first studied art in Southport from 1960-63 and worked in graphic design till I married. In December 1969 I moved to Zambia with my husband and two young children. There I taught art in the local girls school, illustrated for the National Correspondence College and did all sorts of other artwork, paid and unpaid. In 1978 I divorced and remarried in the summer of 1980. In 1985 I became ill and the following year cancer was diagnosed. There was no treatment available in Zambia and so I had to go to the UK. After recovering from a radium needle implant I went back to Zambia, but 18 months later the cancer recurred and it was off to the UK again for radical surgery. This time I realised I must stay in the UK where treatment was available, so I never returned to Zambia nor my husband. A few months later I applied for a degree course, but two years later the disease metastasised and I spent most of my final year in and out of hospital. It’s been a long hard road, but I’m still plodding on and it is now 30 years since my last cancer treatment. Because of my experience of cancer and surviving against the odds, I try and help others cope with their devastating diagnosis and prognosis.

8 thoughts on “Work in Progress”

  1. What an amazing job you’ve done Pat. I immediately have wonderful ideas for my kitchen extension, particularly from the mosaic around your door but I just know I’ll never get round to it. Broken tiles! What a wonderful idea. What an imagination you have Pat. XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A stroke of genius – and I was thinking something looked vaguely familiar – Gaudi, of course! Your neighbours are very fortunate to have this to look at. The trome-l’oeil is great – does she also act as a burglar deterrent?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is wonderful. I wanted to do something similar when I lived in Spain and it is not as easy as it looks is it? Your house reminds me of the original blue house in Mexico shared by Frida Khalo and Diego Rivera – which reminds me I must blog about them.
    (From fellow Cancer Survivor)

    Like

Leave a comment