I’m One of the Lucky Ones


Having an ostomy is a daunting experience no matter what the reason/s that necessitated it, so imagine if you had one and then couldn’t get or couldn’t afford the supplies to manage it and instead of proper ostomy appliances, you had to use carrier bags, tin cans, plastic containers etc.

Now we ostomates (the word given to us ‘baggies’ and I’ve been one for so long that I remember the debate as to whether is should be ostomate or ostomist) sometimes acquire supplies that we can no longer uses for whatever reason – for example at one extreme we will die, but in a less dramatic way, we might find them unsuitable and have to find alternatives – or we just might move on to some new method of managing our ostomy. At that point our old supplies are superfluous, but what to do with them, as we can’t send them back and it seems a terrible waste to dump them?

A member of The Colostomy Association is trying to gather all our surplus stocks together to send to people in need worldwide, but of course this costs money so is looking for donations however small.

If you are interested in this project you can read more about it here: http://www.colostomyassociation.org.uk/index.php?p=164&pp=189&i=293&page=Give%20someone%20a%20#BagOfLife

Thanks for reading.

My new cancer blog here: https://willowilliams.wordpress.com/

Published by

willosworld

Born in Liverpool at the end of WW2, but raised in Skelmersdale. I first studied art in Southport from 1960-63 and worked in graphic design till I married. In December 1969 I moved to Zambia with my husband and two young children. There I taught art in the local girls school, illustrated for the National Correspondence College and did all sorts of other artwork, paid and unpaid. In 1978 I divorced and remarried in the summer of 1980. In 1985 I became ill and the following year cancer was diagnosed. There was no treatment available in Zambia and so I had to go to the UK. After recovering from a radium needle implant I went back to Zambia, but 18 months later the cancer recurred and it was off to the UK again for radical surgery. This time I realised I must stay in the UK where treatment was available, so I never returned to Zambia nor my husband. A few months later I applied for a degree course, but two years later the disease metastasised and I spent most of my final year in and out of hospital. It’s been a long hard road, but I’m still plodding on and it is now 24 years since my last cancer treatment. Because of my experience of cancer and surviving against the odds, I try and help others cope with their devastating diagnosis and prognosis.

2 thoughts on “I’m One of the Lucky Ones”

  1. When I had my reversal, I sent all my unused ostomy stuff to Jacob’s Well, which is a similar charity. I can’t imagine having to improvise with tin cans and plastic bags, as I know some have to. This is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do hope they raise the necessary funding. We are really lucky to have the NHS, even though it’s just hanging on by the skin of its teeth. I’m so grateful that appliances and supplies are available – and that we don’t have to pay for them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

