Desperate Housewives – UK aficionados should complain about the ‘short break’


I’m mortified – that there is no show for two weeks and emailed Channel 4 to complain. Although I received two replies there is no satisfactory explanation. If Corrie or East Enders were to take a ‘short break’ there would be rioting on the streets, so why should we lovers of DH have to put up with this?

Clearly the break is to accommodate those who have gone away for the Easter hols, but the scheduling department should be pandering to those of us who have no alternative but to stay at home and not those who can afford to swan off to distant climes.

Please email Channel4 to register your complaint.

See abbreviated exchange of emails below:

Me: Why no episodes of Desperate Housewives just because it’s Easter?

Channel 4 reply:

Dear Willo,

Thank you for contacting us regarding DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES. We would advise that the series is taking a short break and will return with episode 11 being broadcast on E4 on 11th April at 10pm and on Channel 4 on 14th April at 10pm.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us here at Channel 4 and for your interest in our programming.

Me: Thank you for your speedy reply. However, you didn’t answer my question – I already observed that Desperate Housewives is taking a short break and that is why I wrote to you in the first place! My question was ‘why’? If it were a live show I could understand that the team needed a break – but it isn’t. I assume you’ve altered the programming on account of the Easter holiday, but I am one of the many who can’t take a break, so why should we suffer on account of those that go away? After all – they could record their missed programs or catch up on 4oD.

Otherwise – thanks for the ‘cutting-edge’ or ‘wacky’ programs.

Channel 4:

On 2 Apr 2010, at 13:28, Channel4 VE Support wrote:

Dear Willo,

Thank you for contacting Channel 4 Viewer Enquiries regarding DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES. The decision to take a break for a week was made by those in our scheduling department. Unfortunately, they have not supplied us with a reason for this break. Nevertheless, please be assured that your comments have been noted and logged for the information of those responsible for our programming.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us here at Channel 4 and for your interest in our programming.

Regards,

Channel 4 Viewer Enquiries

For information about Channel 4 have a look at our FAQ section at

www.channel4.com/help

Published by

willosworld

Born in Liverpool at the end of WW2, but raised in Skelmersdale. I first studied art in Southport from 1960-63 and worked in graphic design till I married. In December 1969 I moved to Zambia with my husband and two young children. There I taught art in the local girls school, illustrated for the National Correspondence College and did all sorts of other artwork, paid and unpaid. In 1978 I divorced and remarried in the summer of 1980. In 1985 I became ill and the following year cancer was diagnosed. There was no treatment available in Zambia and so I had to go to the UK. After recovering from a radium needle implant I went back to Zambia, but 18 months later the cancer recurred and it was off to the UK again for radical surgery. This time I realised I must stay in the UK where treatment was available, so I never returned to Zambia nor my husband. A few months later I applied for a degree course, but two years later the disease metastasised and I spent most of my final year in and out of hospital. It’s been a long hard road, but I’m still plodding on and it is now 24 years since my last cancer treatment. Because of my experience of cancer and surviving against the odds, I try and help others cope with their devastating diagnosis and prognosis.

One thought on “Desperate Housewives – UK aficionados should complain about the ‘short break’”

Leave a Reply

