Pulp Fiction, John Travolta and de Vasconcellos


Furious Anger
Furious Anger

A few years ago I was asked by a local gallery to produce some ‘cult icon pics’. I was eager to oblige as money was short and I felt I could do better than many of those on the market. But came the question – would the buying public (of cult icons) be attracted to the work of a little old lady? ‘No!’ came the resounding answer and so I invented the name of an imaginary artist, de Vasconcellos. Not entirely imaginary, as I was very familiar with the work of nonagenarian sculptor, Josefina de Vasconcellos and I had always thought, ‘how could you go wrong with a name like that (even without your father being a wealthy Brazilian diplomat)?’ As a sculptor of religious imagery her age and sex was more of a wonder to the enthusiastic public, including Richard Branson who apparently commissioned a £50,000 piece. (Josefina died a centenarian in 2005).

So a new de Vasconcellos was born and Pulp Fiction was my obvious first choice. In spite of the violence in the movie, I am a great fan and find in very funny, love the story-line, think it very clever and really believe it to be quite a moral tale. Hardly surprising that I also love John Travolta and was so thrilled to see him making such a successful come-back to movies. (I recall queuing for hours with my young sons, to see Grease in the 1970’s).

Following  Pulp came Scarface, as I’m also a great fan of Al Pacino, but really found the movie to be violent just for the sake of it and likewise Reservoir Dogs. Movie buffs might argue the point with me, but I’m just giving my opinion. I bought Kill Bill & Kill Bill 2 off Ebay, but again found them gratuitously violent – even though I am a marshal arts fan.

For more of the work by ‘de Vasconcellos’, please link to the artwork page at http://www.willowilliams.wordpress.com

Published by

willosworld

Born in Liverpool at the end of WW2, but raised in Skelmersdale. I first studied art in Southport from 1960-63 and worked in graphic design till I married. In December 1969 I moved to Zambia with my husband and two young children. There I taught art in the local girls school, illustrated for the National Correspondence College and did all sorts of other artwork, paid and unpaid. In 1978 I divorced and remarried in the summer of 1980. In 1985 I became ill and the following year cancer was diagnosed. There was no treatment available in Zambia and so I had to go to the UK. After recovering from a radium needle implant I went back to Zambia, but 18 months later the cancer recurred and it was off to the UK again for radical surgery. This time I realised I must stay in the UK where treatment was available, so I never returned to Zambia nor my husband. A few months later I applied for a degree course, but two years later the disease metastasised and I spent most of my final year in and out of hospital. It’s been a long hard road, but I’m still plodding on and it is now 24 years since my last cancer treatment. Because of my experience of cancer and surviving against the odds, I try and help others cope with their devastating diagnosis and prognosis.

Leave a Reply

