Ronaldinho – World Cup


As my portrait of Cristiano Ronaldo is creating much interest I though I’d introduce my portraits of Ronaldinho, which I did for an exhibition at the Lowry in Salford, entitled The Joy of Football – and who better would epitomise the joy of the game?

The Free Kick
The Free Kick

As I explained earlier, I am no great lover of football and the brain-washing of children to follow a particular team – and the trouble sometimes caused by opposing supporters and/or football hooligans. Of course I do appreciate that there are peace loving people involved in the ‘beautiful game’ and that is what originally drew me to Ronaldinho.

It was during the World cup 2006 and I was just passing by the TV as my partner, Paul, was watching the game. The commentator was getting very excited and I looked up at the screen to see the finest bit of footwork – by an unusually happy, smiley-faced chappie. That was my introduction to Ronaldinho and I was hooked. No longer was I seeing the more usual aggressive kind of player, making rude gestures to the supporters, swearing at the other team and the referee. This guy was different. Even when he was fouled he picked himself up with a smile, shrugged his shoulders, rolled his eyes and walked away.

Ode a Alegria
Ode a Alegria

I realise that he doesn’t have the same flawless features as the afore mentioned Cristiano, but as the saying goes –‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ and for me, Ronaldinho was beautiful in every respect. I use the past tense only on account of not having seen him during the interim period. Since Paul died, the chances of me catching a football match on the TV are very slim, so the ‘happy’ player may have become more grumpy and aggressive during the past three years. I hope not, as I thought him a fine example to youngsters who seem to idolise certain footballers and most certainly have picked up many of their aggressive and nasty traits.

When Ronaldinho left Barcelona I was really hoping he would come to a British team, but not so. Perhaps I will catch up with him during the next World Cup, which doesn’t seem long away – and once again there will be no escape from the football on TV!

Published by

willosworld

Born in Liverpool at the end of WW2, but raised in Skelmersdale. I first studied art in Southport from 1960-63 and worked in graphic design till I married. In December 1969 I moved to Zambia with my husband and two young children. There I taught art in the local girls school, illustrated for the National Correspondence College and did all sorts of other artwork, paid and unpaid. In 1978 I divorced and remarried in the summer of 1980. In 1985 I became ill and the following year cancer was diagnosed. There was no treatment available in Zambia and so I had to go to the UK. After recovering from a radium needle implant I went back to Zambia, but 18 months later the cancer recurred and it was off to the UK again for radical surgery. This time I realised I must stay in the UK where treatment was available, so I never returned to Zambia nor my husband. A few months later I applied for a degree course, but two years later the disease metastasised and I spent most of my final year in and out of hospital. It’s been a long hard road, but I’m still plodding on and it is now 24 years since my last cancer treatment. Because of my experience of cancer and surviving against the odds, I try and help others cope with their devastating diagnosis and prognosis.

Leave a Reply

